ME 498CM is a course designed to teach you the principles of ANSYS Mechanical APDL, ANSYS Fluent CFD, and 3DS Simulia Abaqus FEA.

This course will provide an opportunity for students who have been introduced to principles of finite element analysis and computational fluid dynamics (by taking ME 412, ATMS 502, ME 554, etc.) to learn the basic and intermediate functionality of widely used commercial mechanics packages. Two finite element analysis packages, ANSYS Mechanical APDL and Abaqus FEA, and one computational fluid dynamics package, Fluent CFD, will be covered.

The course will be taught on Tuesdays and Thursdays in MEL 1001.  It will consist of 1h20m applied lecture sections, with other lab hours available for consulting and exercise help. Applied lectures will introduce modeling methods and software capabilities as well as feature the hands-on demonstration of fundamental principles and techniques. Students will be expected to follow along and then apply the principles to short exercises and projects for each package.

Syllabus

Notices to Students

2015-12-16

Final grades are posted. It's been a pleasure teaching you all, and I appreciate your contributions and forbearance as the course has developed in real time.

2015-12-04

We need all students to attend the last part of Tuesday's lecture in 106B3 Engineering Hall so that we can complete the course ICES forms. Please arrive by 3:00 p.m. if you are not attending the rest of the lecture. (This applies to students who took any component of the course.) Please also double-check your grades and let me know of any missing grades or inconsistencies with your enrollment.

2015-11-01

For our lectures on Thursday and Tuesday, we will meet in 106B3 Engineering Hall instead of the EWS computer lab.

2015-11-24

You will find it advantageous to have some background in Python for the discussion of scripting. It's a pretty straightforward language, very similar to MATLAB in its syntax. Please take a look at sections 1–6 of this tutorial.

2015-11-23

Abaqus HW2 has been updated with instructions to fix the friction interaction to not require a Fortran compiler. Please consult the second page of the assignment for more information now. The new due date is Thursday, December 3.

2015-10-22

For our lecture on Tuesday, October 27, we will meet in 106B3 Engineering Hall instead of the EWS computer lab.  Ahmed Taha of NCSA will be speaking on using Fluent and CFD applications on supercomputers.

2015-10-15

Fluent HW3 is posted. As this assignment involves transient simulations, you are advised to begin early. Working in pairs is also acceptable.

2015-09-18

The final ANSYS homework has been posted, due Tuesday, 29 September.

2015-09-08

TA office hours will be moved from this afternoon to the same time tomorrow afternoon (Wednesday) in the other EWS lab, 1009 MEL.
ANSYS HW1 has a fatal flaw, in that BEAM188 elements actually don't report SEQV von Mises stress. So just report what you can about the simulation, displacement, etc. and we'll discuss what went wrong and why on Thursday.

2015-08-25

The online registration for this course lists 106B3 EH as the classroom; we will meet instead in 1001 MEL (an EWS lab) for the entire semester.

2015-08-12

For those who are interested in offerings beyond 3DS's Abaqus FEA system, 3DS is currently offering CATIA V5 Student Edition for free (until October 10).

2015-08-12

Although the course will take place in blocks throughout the semester, I need to explain how the course will actually work and who is attending when. Thus I need all of you to attend the first day of class, even if you are not studying ANSYS, so that we can review the structure and policies of the course.

Since the enrollment was set up to ask how many rather than which credit hours you intend to sit, I need to immediately determine the actual enrollment in each topic. This should open up a handful of seats to those interested in taking the course as well who didn't fit under the previous model. In order to guarantee access to the topic you want, all students need to take the survey here prior to August 20, when I will open the waitlist for any remaining students to join.

Course Outline & Schedule

The course is decomposed into three logical units, one addressing each software package exclusively. (This outline and schedule are subject to revision.)

ANSYS Mechanical APDL for Structural Analysis · TA: Smruthi Murali

1

Finite element analysis workflow

Tue, Aug 25

Homework 1 (25 pts)

Thu, Sep 3

2

Meshing, elements, & geometry

Thu, Aug 27

Homework 2 (25 pts)

Thu, Sep 10

3

Solid modeling & postprocessing

Tue, Sep 1

Homework 3 (20 pts)

Thu, Sep 17

4

Solution methods

Thu, Sep 3

Homework 4 (30 pts), sma.inp

Tue, Sep 29

5

Boundary conditions

Tue, Sep 8



6

Geometry importing

Thu, Sep 10



7

Batch programming & scripting

Tue, Sep 15



8

Thermal coupling

Thu, Sep 17



9

Contact Mechanics & Hyperelasticity

Tue, Sep 22




ANSYS Fluent CFD for Computational Fluid Dynamics · TA: Zhongzhong Zhang

1

Finite volume method & workflow

Thu, Sep 24

Homework 1

Thu, Oct 8

2

Preprocessing

Tue, Sep 29

Homework 2

Thu, Oct 15

3

Convective flow & Thermal coupling

Thu, Oct 1

Homework 3

Thu, Oct 22

4

Boundary conditions & UDFs

Tue, Oct 6

Homework 4

Tue, Nov 3

5

Transient solution & Solvers

Thu, Oct 8



6

Compressible flow & V&V

Tue, Oct 13



7

Compressible flow redux & Scripting

Thu, Oct 15



8

Turbulent flow

Tue, Oct 20



9

Chemical reactivity & Mesh convergence

Thu, Oct 22



10

Applications

Tue, Oct 27

(106B3 EH)



3DS Abaqus FEA for Structural Analysis · Assistant: Masoud Safdari · Docs

1

Finite element analysis workflow

Thu, Oct 29

Homework 1 (5 pts)

Thu, Nov 5

2

Meshing & elements

Tue, Nov 3

Homework 2 (25 pts)

Thu, Dec 3 (new date)

3

Loading & analysis

Thu, Nov 5

Homework 3 (50 pts)

pylon.cae

Tue, Dec 1

4

Coupling physics

Tue, Nov 10

Homework 4

Thu, Dec 10

5

Material, yield, & failure models

Thu, Nov 12



6

Contact & fracture FEA; advanced geometry

Tue, Nov 17



7

Transient solution

Thu, Nov 19



8

Batch programming & scripting

Tue, Dec 1



9

Applications

Thu, Dec 3

(106B3 EH)



10

Applications

Tue, Dec 8

(106B3 EH)